Five ward reps blamed for attack on Kisumu Assembly officer

Chaotic scenes at Kisumu County Assembly chambers. [Denish Ochieng, Standard]
Five Kisumu MCAs were yesterday summoned by investigators over claims they assaulted the assembly's sergeant-at-arms George Amayo.

Mr Amayo was assaulted last year after chaos erupted at the assembly.

The five are Joachim Oketch (Kondele), Joseph Olale (Nyalenda B), Seth Okumu (East Seme), Ojwang Ogendo (Nyalenda A) and Seth Kanga (Market Milimani).

County Directorate of Criminal Investigations boss Kipkorir Towett said the MCAs will be grilled to unravel how Mr Amayo was attacked.

Amayo, a licensed firearm holder, reportedly shot in the air to scare off the MCAs

“Yes, it is true we have summoned them and we will grill them,” said Mr Towett.

However, by noon, the ward reps had not yet recorded statements.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.  

Speaker impeached

The development comes barely a few days after MCAs controversially impeached Speaker Onyango Oloo in a session where another junior sergeant-at-arms was attacked.

The junior assembly official was confronted by some MCAs who were trying to eject Kajulu MCA Roy Samo from the Sspeaker’s seat.

The assembly has of late become a theatre of chaotic scenes. About a week ago, Oloo's bid to retake his position at the assembly was met with violence after some MCAs blocked him from accessing assembly premises.

The MCAs claimed they did not recognise Oloo as their speaker, even as he dismissed their assertions, arguing that there was no court order barring him from accessing office.

Oloo has vowed to challenge his impeachment in court.

Oloo is also facing graft charges regarding the construction of the Sh4.1 billion Kisumu Lake Basin Mall.

The mall was put up when he served as Chair of Lake Basin Development Authority.

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Get the latest summary of news in your email every morning. Subscribe below

* indicates required
Kisumu MCAsAssaultLake Basin Development Authority