Today's Paper
You are here  » Home   » Kenya

President Uhuru picks Noordin Haji as next DPP

By Hillary Orinde | Published Tue, March 13th 2018 at 15:16, Updated March 13th 2018 at 16:32 GMT +3

Noordin Mohamed Haji. [Courtesy]

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated National Intelligence Service Deputy Director Noordin Mohamed Haji as Keriako Tobiko’s successor.

On January 5, 2018 Tobiko tendered his resignation as the DPP and was nominated for a cabinet position. Keriako Tobiko has since assumed office with vigour as the CS for Environment.

The President forwarded Haji’s from a pool of 10 short-listed candidates interviewed by the panel chaired by University of Nairobi’s law don Elizabeth Muli.

Those interviewed were: Supreme Court Deputy Registrar Daniel ole Keiwua, former commissioner of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Thomas Letangule, lawyer Lucy Kambuni, Machakos Chief Magistrate Abdulkadir Ramadhan, Patrick Gumo and three deputy DPPs – Dorcas Oduor, Jacob Ondari and Nicholas Mutuku.

If Haji lands the job, which is almost a foregone conclusion given the recent trend whereby parliament has been okaying all presidential appointments, both EACC and the Kenya Police Service will be headed by former National Intelligence Service officers.

President Uhuru has also nominated six new Principal Secretaries: Harry Kimutai (Livestock), Jerome Ochieng (ICT), Susan Komen (EAC), Prof Fred Sigor (Irrigation), John Omenge (Mining) and Alfred Cheruiyot (Correctional Services).

Your opinion is valuable. Take this quick survey to help us improve the website and content

Would you like to get published on Standard Media websites? You can now email us breaking news, story ideas, human interest articles or interesting videos on: [email protected]