Uhuru settles on Noordin Haji as next DPP

Noordin Mohamed Haji. [Courtesy]

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated National Intelligence Service Deputy Director Noordin Mohamed Haji as Keriako Tobiko’s successor.

On January 5, 2018 Tobiko tendered his resignation as the DPP and was nominated for a cabinet position. Keriako Tobiko has since assumed office with vigour as the CS for Environment.

The President forwarded Haji’s from a pool of 10 short-listed candidates interviewed by the panel chaired by University of Nairobi’s law don Elizabeth Muli.

SEE ALSO :Uhuru's tax gamble that enraged Kenyans

Those interviewed were: Supreme Court Deputy Registrar Daniel ole Keiwua, former commissioner of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Thomas Letangule, lawyer Lucy Kambuni, Machakos Chief Magistrate Abdulkadir Ramadhan, Patrick Gumo and three deputy DPPs – Dorcas Oduor, Jacob Ondari and Nicholas Mutuku.

If Haji lands the job, which is almost a foregone conclusion given the recent trend whereby parliament has been okaying all presidential appointments, both EACC and the Kenya Police Service will be headed by former National Intelligence Service officers.

President Uhuru has also nominated six new Principal Secretaries: Harry Kimutai (Livestock), Jerome Ochieng (ICT), Susan Komen (EAC), Prof Fred Sigor (Irrigation), John Omenge (Mining) and Alfred Cheruiyot (Correctional Services).

dppkeriako tobikoNoordin Mohamed Hajipresident uhuru kenyatta