MCAs threaten to kick Speaker out over graft Next Story
Chief to spend 20 years in jail for defilement Previous Story
You are here  » Home   » Nyanza

Speaker, MPs clash over Rasanga nominees

By Olivia Odhiambo | Published Sat, February 3rd 2018 at 00:00, Updated February 2nd 2018 at 23:16 GMT +3
George Okode while being sworn in as the speaker Siaya County Assembly for the second time on 30th August 2017. (Collins Oduor, Standard)

Three MPs clashed with Siaya County Assembly Speaker George Okode over delays in approving executive committee nominees.

The legislators, Elisha Odhiambo (Gem), Sam Atandi (Alego Usonga) and Gideon Ochanda (Bondo) also accused the Speaker of sidelining them in the affairs of the assembly.

ALSO READ: MCAs clash over expenditure at special sitting

While attending the swearing-in of five nominees yesterday, the MPs hit out at Mr Okode, accusing him of delaying the approval of the remaining two officials whose names were forwarded by Governor Cornel Rasanga.

“Stop this pettiness and give us an Executive so that service delivery can start, “ Odhiambo told the Speaker.

They have PhDs

The Gem MP claimed there was a scheme by MCAs to frustrate some nominees.

He said it was inappropriate for the Speaker to say some nominees were  not well educated yet most of them were PhDs holders.

“We cannot delay development projects of Siaya County because of political games,” said Odhiambo.

But the Speaker, who struck a re-conciliatory tone, said he was not at war with any elected leader.

“I will not respond to any allegations or tongue lashing. I made a personal resolution that I will be a unifying factor in the county, “ said Okode.

ALSO READ: Hundreds of bills passed by county assemblies yet to be implemented

Late last year the assembly rejected nine nominees out of the 10 names sent to them for approval by Rasanga claiming they were not qualified.

The governor recently sent seven names to the Assembly, five were new while two were from the previously rejected list.

But the Assembly only approved five names arguing that the other two were not qualified.

The nominees sworn-in yesterday are — Bernard Mboha (Roads), Elizabeth Achieng’ (Tourism), Joseph Warega (Finance), Charles Ogada (Agriculture), and Mary Omondi ( Education).