You are here  » Home   » Politics

Two NASA MPs defy Raila’s order, attend President Uhuru’s Parliament address

By Waweru Titus | Published Tue, September 12th 2017 at 21:40, Updated September 12th 2017 at 22:42 GMT +3
Speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi and the Senate Speaker Ken Lusaka wait to welcome President Uhuru Kenyatta to address joint sitting of the House. 12/09/17 Photo Moses Omusula

National Super Alliance (NASA) Members of Parliament (MPs) boycotted President Uhuru Kenyatta’s address for the opening of the 12th Parliament on Tuesday.

Only Webuye East MP Alfred Sambu (Amani National Congress) and Hamisi MP Charles Gimose (Ford Kenya) attended Uhuru’s address.

The judges of the Supreme Court also skipped the joint sitting of Parliament.

NASA co-principal Moses Wetang’ula had on Monday said that Opposition MPs would not attend opening of the Parliament.

"The President does not have power to convene or schedule the opening of the newly-elected parliament. That duty awaits the President who will assume office after being sworn in by the Chief Justice upon taking and subscribing to the oath of allegiance and the oath for the execution of the functions of office as provided by the Constitution," said Wetang’ula.

"Nasa members will, therefore, not attend the purported opening of Parliament on Tuesday as directed by the Speakers of both Houses,” he added.

Avoid fake news! Subscribe to the Standard SMS service and receive factual, verified breaking news as it happens. Text the word 'NEWS' to 22840

Would you like to get published on Standard Media websites? You can now email us breaking news, story ideas, human interest articles or interesting videos on: [email protected]