Today's Paper
You are here  » Home   » Kenya

Standard Media reporters shine at global awards in Beijing

By BONIFACE GIKANDI | Published Sun, October 26th 2014 at 10:48, Updated October 26th 2014 at 16:35 GMT +3

BEIJING, CHINA: The stage is set to recognise and fete journalists whose stories and images peaked across the globe, when the World Media Summit (WMS) Global Awards for Excellence 2014 is announced its winners today (Monday) in Beijing, China.

The WMS Global Awards for Excellence, launched by the World Media Summit, is the first comprehensive news awards covering multiple media formats, including press, photo, video and integrated media. The awards, designed to become an authoritative, credible and globally influential news showcase, are open to news agencies, newspapers, TV stations and news websites around the world.

Two Kenyan journalists from The Standard media senior Investigative reporters Adow Jubat, based in North-Eastern and Nairobi based Paul Wafula, are the among the frontrunners nominated for the prestige award whose winners for the 3 categories contested will pocket $ 10,000. Only four journalists from Africa has made to the nomination stage.

The awards’ board of judges was Chairperson Li Congjun said “The creation of the awards has epoch-making significance. It encourages all people working in the media sector to keep honing their professional skills and pursue excellence, while inspiring media setups to work with the times in the spirit of innovation, and to actively carry out social responsibilities and the mission of public welfare”,

He said during entry submission period, over 450 news organizations and more than 500 news practitioners from 138 countries and regions have submitted 1424 entries in total.

The WMS Global Awards for Excellence honors “TRUTH, OBJECTIVITY, EXCELLENCE” in journalism. The awards encourage all people working in the media sector to keep honing their professional skills and pursue excellence, while inspiring media setups to work with the times in the spirit of innovation.

There are three categories: Awards for Public Welfare, Award for Media Innovation and Award for New Media Reporting. Awards for Public Welfare include two sub-categories: Award for Exemplary News Teams in Developing Countries and Award for Exemplary News Professionals in Developing Countries.

Get live updates in Agriculture by subscribing to the new farmers TV SMS service. Text the word 'Farmers' to 22071.

WMS presidium member organizations, including The Associated Press, Xinhua News Agency, Tass Russian News Agency, Kyodo News, Turner Broadcasting System, National Broadcasting Company, Al Jazeera Media Network, MIH Group and Kasturi & Sons Limited, and Agence France-Presse, Polish Press Agency, European Pressphoto Agency, Rossiya Segodnya International Information Agency, KBS, Hearst Corporation, Paris Match, Frontline magazine, South China Morning Post and Tsinghua University have sent judges to join the nominating panels or the board of judges. The nominating panels have recommended 36 finalists to the board of judges.                                                                                                     

Jubat, who has reported extensively human interest features, did a lot investigative stories, covered conflicts and drought ravaging in Northern Kenya for the last 13 years for the Standard said he is thrilled that his effort has been acknowledged at international and highly competitive arena.

Would you like to get published on Standard Media websites? You can now email us breaking news, story ideas, human interest articles or interesting videos on: [email protected]