Muturi elected Speaker of National Assembly

By Standard Digital Reporter

Nairobi, Kenya: Justin Muturi has been elected speaker of the National Assembly in an election held at parliament buildings.

Muturi of Jubilee garnered 219 votes beating his rival in CORD, Kenneth Marende who managed 129 in second round of voting.

The house went into second round since the winner had not attained two thirds majority; Muturi got 202 votes against Marende's 144. There were two spoilt viotes from the first round.

SEE ALSO :Return of pricey loans as MPs ditch rate caps

The election for speaker of 11th parliament kicked off after the swearing in of Members of Parliament Thursday Morning.

The voting for the speaker was conducted by 290 MPs, 47 women county representatives and 12 nominated members who were all sworn in prior to the exercise.

National Assembly clerk Justin Bundi presided over the voting of the speaker.

For More of This and Other Stories, Grab Your Copy of the Standard Newspaper.

Tallying agents for Kenneth Marende and Justin Muturi were Simba Arati and Lucy Gitau respectively.

The Speaker will be ex-officio Member of Parliament.

SEE ALSO :Dead end for Aukot's Punguza Mizigo Bill as Speakers publish Gazette notice

In his acceptance speech, stated that his victory was not his alone but for all Kenyans.

"As I take over the role of the Chair of the Parliamentary Service commission, I urge all to continue with the work of facilitating discharging duties," said Muturi.

Once elected and sworn in, the speaker presided over the election of deputy speaker, an exercise that kicked off immediately after.

The deputy speaker candidates are Joyce Laboso of URP and Daniel Maanzo of Wiper.

Do not miss out on the latest news. Join the Standard Digital Telegram channel HERE.

Get the latest summary of news in your email every morning. Subscribe below

* indicates required
Justin Muturi National Assembly speaker