Kenya Simbas' Hillary Odhiambo (center) in action against Uganda.[KRU]

The Kenya Rugby Union has confirmed the Simbas squad for 2024 season. 

There are maiden call ups for 14 players, majority of whom were active during the just concluded Rugby Super Series, namely Francis Atiti, Felix Ojow, Amos Obae, Felix Okoth, William Mwanji, Griffin Chao, Obat Kuke, Tyson Maina, Richel Wangila, Matthias Osimbo, Dennis Abukuse, Abutwalib Wesonga and Quinto Ongo.

Former Kenya Sevens international Johnstone Olindi, now playing his club rugby in Canada also gets a call up to the squad.

The foreign based trio of Andrew Siminyu, Malcolm Onsando,Thomas Okeyo as well as Edward Mwaura, Clinton Juma, Samson Onsomu, Beldad Ogeta and Emmanuel Silungi who were also in action during the Rugby Super Series return to the squad after missing out on last year’s internationals. Timothy Okwemba, last capped in 2019 also makes a return.

Seasoned Simbas campaigners John Okoth, Vincent Onyala, Brian Tanga, Samuel Asati and Lamech Ambetsa are away with the national sevens team, Shujaa as they prepare to compete at the Olympic games Jone Kubu is recovering from an ankle injury and going through return to play protocols following successful surgery. 

The Simbas will begin their 2024 season with the Rugby Africa Cup between 20-28 July in Kampala, Uganda. 

Kenya Simbas Squad

LOOSEHEAD PROPS: Francis Atiti (Menengai Oilers), Edward Mwaura (Kabras Sugar), Andrew Siminyu (University of Johannesburg, South Africa)

HOOKERS: Eugene Sifuna (Kabras Sugar), Teddy Akala (Kabras Sugar), Griffin Musila (KCB)

TIGHTHEAD PROPS: Wilhite Mususi (KCB), Ephraim Oduor (Kabras Sugar), Hillary Mwanjilwa (Kabras Sugar)

LOCKS: Brian Juma (Kabras Sugar), Hibrahim Ayoo (Menengai Oilers), Felix Okoth (Nakuru), Clinton Juma (Menengai Oilers), Hillary Odhiambo (Kabras Sugar), Malcolm Onsando ( SCM Rugby Timisoara, Romania), Emmanuel Silungi (KCB)

BLINDSIDE FLANKERS: George Nyambua (Kabras Sugar), Felix Ojow (KCB), Amos Obae (Nakuru)

OPENSIDE FLANKERS: Brian Ndirangu (Westshore RFC, Canada), Thomas Okeyo (NovaVit Griffons, South Africa), Elvis Olukusi (KCB), William Mwanji (Kabras Sugar)

NUMBER EIGHTS: Jeanson Musoga (Kabras Sugar), Elkeans Musonye (Menengai Oilers), Obat Kuke (Blak Blad)

SCRUM HALVES: Michael Wanjala (KCB), Samson Onsomu (Menengai Oilers), Brian Wahinya (KCB)

FLY HALVES: Ntabeni Dukisa (Kabras Sugar), Barry Young (Kabras Sugar), Johnstone Olindi (Westshore RFC, Canada)

LEFT WING: Beldad Ogeta (Menengai Oilers), Griffin Chao (Kabras Sugar), Derrick Ashiundu (Kabras Sugar)

INSIDE CENTERS: Walter Okoth (Kabras Sugar), Tyson Maina (Menengai Oilers), Paul Mutsami (Kenya Harlequin)

OUTSIDE CENTERS: Richel Wangila (Kenya Harlequin), Bryceson Adaka (Kabras Sugar), Mathias Osimbo (Kabras Sugar), Dennis Abukuse (Menengai Oilers)

RIGHT WING: Joel Inzuga (Mwamba), Timothy Omela (Menengai Oilers), Alfred Orege (Kabras Sugar)

FULLBACKS: Abutwalib Wesonga (Menengai Oilers), Quinto Ongo (Impala)

The Simbas will start their Rugby Africa Cup campaign with a quarterfinal clash against Senegal at the Mandela National Stadium in Nambole, Kampala, Uganda on Saturday 20 July 2024.

The winner of this match will play in the semifinals against the winner of the Algeria – Ivory Coast quarterfinal on Wednesday 24 July.

The final day of the tournament takes place on Sunday 28 July at the same venue.

2024Rugby Africa Cup schedule

Quarterfinals July 20

Namibia v Burkina Faso

Kenya v Senegal

Algeria v Ivory Coast

Zimbabwe v Uganda