You are here  » Home   » Politics

Delays mar second day of TNA nominations

By - | Published Sat, January 19th 2013 at 00:00, Updated January 18th 2013 at 22:14 GMT +3

By Francis Ngige and Marion Ndung’u

KENYA: The National Alliance (TNA) nominations in Mt Kenya region kicked off late in most parts of Mt Kenya region.

But from those areas where there was voting on Thursday, there were few surprises with seasoned politicians dominating the list of nominees.

Former Cabinet minister Njeru Ndwiga bagged the ticket for the Embu senatorial seat contest while former Runyenjes MP Nyaga Wambora will fly TNA flag for the gubernatorial seat.

Former Gachoka MP Mutava Musyimi beat former President Kibaki aide de camp Geoffrey King’ang’i to clinch the ticket to contest for Mbeere South seat.

In the nearby Mbeere North, former area MP Justin Muturi won the TNA ticket.

In Kirinyaga, Finance minister Njeru Githae was facing stiff competition from former Foreign PS Joseph Ndathi who had taken an early lead by the time of going to the press.

In Nyeri, there was confusion as reports claimed that immediate former Kieni MP Nemesis’s Warugongo had been denied a DP ticket after he decamped from TNA.

Special Programmes minister Esther Murugi was facing off with Paul Kanyari, who was said to give her a run for her money in her bid to remain an MP.

The TNA nominations in Kieni took place from 11am due to delay in delivery of ballot papers at various polling stations. In the morning, small groups of people had gathered outside polling centres with many staying at home and waiting for news on the exercise.

Aspiring MP, James Mathenge, like many other people arrived at Kahuho Primary School to vote only to find the voting materials had not arrived.

Mathira MP Ephraim Maina got the TNA ticket since he was unopposed in the Senate race in Nyeri.

Maina will now battle with former Cabinet minister Chris Murungaru DP and Mutahi Kagwe Narc.

In Meru, Assistant minister Kilemi Mwiria will be TNA candidate for the gubernatorial seat while former MPs Cyrus Muriuki and Mithika Linturi got the nod to defend their positions on the party ticket.