Your are here  » Home   » Politics

Laikipia County Assembly rejects two nominees

By - Updated Wednesday, May 22nd 2013 at 00:00 GMT +3
Share this story:
Google Plus

By Job Weru

Laikipia, Kenya: Laikipia Governor Joshua Irungu suffered a blow, when the County Assembly rejected two of his eight nominees for the Executive Committee.

The Assembly rejected the nomination of Patrick Lekimin to the Trade, Commerce, Tourism and Enterprise Development, and Sherry Jepkosgei for the Gender, Culture, Social Development, Sports, Children and Youth Affairs docket.

Lekimin, 33, failed to sail through, after it emerged he was a resident of neighbouring Samburu County. It was also claimed he had applied for a position in Samburu County Public Service Board.

Leaders from Laikipia North Constituency, led by Sarah Lekorere faulted Irungu’s list immediately after he unveiled it, saying the appointments were extended to “foreigners.”

“We will reject the names, since they nominated people from outside the county, while we have equally qualified people able to take up the roles,” said Lekorere.

And during vetting by the Laikipia County Assembly Committee on Appointments, Lekimin admitted he had applied for the position.

But he defended himself, claiming he was not successful, but members queried whether the names of successful candidates have been shortlisted.

County Assembly’s Deputy Speaker Peter Kimondo said Jepkosgei, 37, was rejected after she failed to express herself during vetting.

Do you have something to add to this story? Comment here.
Comment Policy
KTN Prime Full Bulletin February 8th, 2016
Sports CS Hassan Wario grilled by senate committee over mismanagement of Harambee Stars
National volleyball women’s team, Malkia Strikers set to depart for Olympic qualifiers in Cameroon
NOCK refutes claims that Kenya would pull out of Rio Olympic Games due to Zika virus threat
Football Kenya Federation elections set to be carried out at the Moi Sports center Kasarani
Kenya Ports Authority managing director Gichiri Ndua fired alongside four other top officials