Your are here  » Home   » America

19 States want to secede from America

By - Updated Tuesday, November 13th 2012 at 00:00 GMT +3
Share this story:
Google Plus

Just days after President Obama won another four year term to lead the most powerful country on earth, a record of nineteen states have filed petitions to be allowed to withdraw from the US and form their own governments.

Unlike Pwani sio Kenya group which uses violence to further its aim, the states have all petitioned the president to be allowed to secede.

Whoever initiates the petition must get 150 signatures just to "go live" on the Whitehouse website.

 Then, each state must get 25,000 signatures by Dec 10, 2012 to be considered by President Obama.

Each state's plea reads similar: "Peacefully grant the State of Missouri to withdraw from the United States of America and create its own NEW government."

As of Tuesday, the states seeking secession are Alabama, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Texas

Do you have something to add to this story? Comment here.
Comment Policy
COSTLY FRAUD: Why motor insurance is prone to fraud
Business sentiment index is down to 59.5
DRILL OF DEATH: Strathmore University students injured in a boached Police drill
Body building games slated for Mombasa County
Top Athletics Kenya bosses suspended for six months
Pope Francis ends his African tour after visiting a mosque in flashpoint neighbourhood of CAR